5 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  April 18, 2012 - 12:43pm
nerdz's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 42

I'm considering purchasing another year of ATV Flash but just need to confirm a couple things:

1. Since 1st gen stopped at 3.01 iOS, is there a similar app like AirPlay with the latest ATV Flash ?

2. How about Netflix?

  April 19, 2012 - 1:46pm
nerdz's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 42

Been here for more than 3 years and Fircore support has always been a hit and miss... I get less than half a chance of getting any help.


  April 19, 2012 - 11:49pm
divinevelocity's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 4

1) actually, it's 3.02. 
(and it's not ios, like the appletv2 and appletv3; instead, it's running a version of intel tiger (mac os x 10.4) under the hood.

 

2) netflix: certainly doable.

 

silverlight and firefox are your keys to success:

http://forum.firecore.com/topic/1969

(the most annoying part is grabbing a framework from a mac os x intel tiger install).

 

here's a guy doing it on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UuKkZ8TF9dw 

(he references another forum where he gives details:

http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=4586&page=12 )

(he mentions boxee in the title, and it's where he links to forum-wise, but, he does not use it in the demo).

 

more info:

http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Firefox

http://forums.boxee.tv/showpost.php?p=93754&postcount=110

 

 

choppy for the first few minutes, but then smooths out as it buffers and adjusts.

 

you'll definitely want a way to use a mouse during it (he uses rowmote's trackpad during the install). i've set a roomie with vnc to get it started.

 

3) alternate:

you can transcode from a pc (unsure how to do it on a mac) your inbound netflix stream (works for hulu, too) using a an app called playon in conjunction with xbmc on the appletv. more details here:

http://forum.firecore.com/topic/3359


  April 20, 2012 - 2:50pm (Reply to #3)
nerdz's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 42
divinevelocity wrote:

1) actually, it's 3.02. 

(and it's not ios, like the appletv2 and appletv3; instead, it's running a version of intel tiger (mac os x 10.4) under the hood.

Useless info and not remotely answering the  essential question. 

divinevelocity wrote:

2) netflix: certainly doable.

silverlight and firefox are your keys to success: ...

It does not seem practical. It's making something so simple so cumbersome. For $100 or less, I can get a ATV3 or Roku.


  June 1, 2012 - 3:34pm
ormanton's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 418

You can set it in 1 min.

airplay works via xbmc or remotehd

enable airplay in xbmc settings

or get remotehd app  

For netflix try this in xbmc

2008-atv1
2011-atv2
2012-atv3 (getting dusty waiting for a miracle)


Log in or register to post comments