36 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  May 22, 2012 - 3:25am
ZebraineZ's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2

I honestly have no idea what on earth is happening. It's extremely weird because I can still SSH to it...but it keeps turning on and off on my TV like the menu pops up for a second and goes black. Sometimes it lets me use the remote to switch menus for like an extra second longer before rebooting again. It's 4.4.4 jailbroken and this all happened right after I rebooted (didn't install anything funky). It was literally working perfectly fine and then this happens when I reboot it, never any problems before.

 

The second weirdest thing is how it does this, but stops when I turn off all the routers or just anything it can connect to as wifi...ditto if I plug in ethernet it does this, if I plug it out it boots up fine and I can use it normally with no problems.

So? Is there any help or directions someone may give me to get started to see what's wrong with it? Because I tried googling and it's a weirdly worded problem but I found other people that had the same issues, but their posts were back in the days when Apple was still signing the firmware in which they could just simply restore and everything would be fine, and stuff and for some ungodly reason it can't find any SSH and obviously if I boot it up without connecting to any network I can't find any SSH of it either... so yes restoring does not work and as of right now I'm not going to update/restore to 5.x+ anytime soon.

So basically it seems to be some random issue with networking and seeing as how I still have SSH working surprisingly, can someone tell me where I should look? What I can delete or add? Please Frown every help would be appreciated! 

  May 22, 2012 - 8:22am
matty's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 640
ZebraineZ wrote:

I honestly have no idea what on earth is happening. It's extremely weird because I can still SSH to it...but it keeps turning on and off on my TV like the menu pops up for a second and goes black. Sometimes it lets me use the remote to switch menus for like an extra second longer before rebooting again. It's 4.4.4 jailbroken and this all happened right after I rebooted (didn't install anything funky). It was literally working perfectly fine and then this happens when I reboot it, never any problems before.

 

The second weirdest thing is how it does this, but stops when I turn off all the routers or just anything it can connect to as wifi...ditto if I plug in ethernet it does this, if I plug it out it boots up fine and I can use it normally with no problems.

So? Is there any help or directions someone may give me to get started to see what's wrong with it? Because I tried googling and it's a weirdly worded problem but I found other people that had the same issues, but their posts were back in the days when Apple was still signing the firmware in which they could just simply restore and everything would be fine, and stuff and for some ungodly reason it can't find any SSH and obviously if I boot it up without connecting to any network I can't find any SSH of it either... so yes restoring does not work and as of right now I'm not going to update/restore to 5.x+ anytime soon.

So basically it seems to be some random issue with networking and seeing as how I still have SSH working surprisingly, can someone tell me where I should look? What I can delete or add? Please Frown every help would be appreciated! 

Are you by any chance using a 3rd party DNS like HideMyAss to proxy into a different country to get NetFlix working for instance? 3rd party DNS setups are known to cause an issue.


  May 22, 2012 - 6:44pm (Reply to #2)
ZebraineZ's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2
matty wrote:

Are you by any chance using a 3rd party DNS like HideMyAss to proxy into a different country to get NetFlix working for instance? 3rd party DNS setups are known to cause an issue.

Um I'm in America and I don't use Netflix, or any proxy's or network doohickies for anything....Anything thanks anyway, I finally got it to restore but I just decided to update to 5.0 with tethered anyway, I'l live I guess.


  May 23, 2012 - 12:01pm (Reply to #3)
matty's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 640
ZebraineZ wrote:

Um I'm in America and I don't use Netflix, or any proxy's or network doohickies for anything....Anything thanks anyway, I finally got it to restore but I just decided to update to 5.0 with tethered anyway, I'l live I guess.

Based on www.pod2g.com an untethered jailbreak for 5.1.1 should, unless something changes, be available this week.


  May 24, 2012 - 8:03am
psychicpsquirrel's picture
Offline
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 7

I've had the exact same problem several times. The only solution was to do a full restore/jailbreak with season pass.

At least one of the times the problem started, I was only using the youtube app when it rebooted. Since this was just one of the standard apps, it made me suspicious that the problem might be caused by the aTV2 running low of local storage. The last time that it crashed I only had nitoTV, Media Player, and Couch Surfer installed. On the next restore I only installed Media Player, but this time disabled Metadata fetching. So far in the 3 - 4 weeks since the last restore, it hasn't missed a beat.


  May 24, 2012 - 5:25pm (Reply to #5)
dariop's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
psychicpsquirrel wrote:

it made me suspicious that the problem might be caused by the aTV2 running low of local storage.[] On the next restore I only installed Media Player, but this time disabled Metadata fetching. So far in the 3 - 4 weeks since the last restore, it hasn't missed a beat.

You are right, it is a memory management problem. I have opened ticket about these reboot loops a month ago, and suggested to support service that it is related to the atv2 running low on memory. But, up to now no news about the solution.


  May 30, 2012 - 7:30pm
kate66's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 7

I was able to fix my reboot loop by adding to /etc/hosts

 

127.0.0.1 ax.init.itunes.apple.com

 

After blocking that hostname my atv stopped crashing every second or so.


  August 21, 2012 - 10:50pm (Reply to #7)
Mukba's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
kate66 wrote:

I was able to fix my reboot loop by adding to /etc/hosts

 

127.0.0.1 ax.init.itunes.apple.com

 

After blocking that hostname my atv stopped crashing every second or so.

 

Wow thank you kate this proved to fix my problem;

For Basic user: 

SSh to atv:

 

 

ssh root@youratvipaddress

then:

 

echo "127.0.0.1 ax.init.itunes.apple.com" >> /etc/hosts

Unplug and reboot or do

killall AppleTV

Thank again Kate for posting!


  November 21, 2012 - 5:10am
Monk_1's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 2

How to undo it?

 

Monk_1


  November 26, 2012 - 5:10am
march.kyle's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1

Same problem for me. I did the fix:

echo "127.0.0.1 ax.init.itunes.apple.com" >> /etc/hosts

but now I have lost all the iTunes store icons on the ATV like Movies etc... 

How do we undo this or get the icons back?


  December 9, 2012 - 3:11pm (Reply to #10)
fiorix's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
march.kyle wrote:

Same problem for me. I did the fix:

echo "127.0.0.1 ax.init.itunes.apple.com" >> /etc/hosts

but now I have lost all the iTunes store icons on the ATV like Movies etc... 

How do we undo this or get the icons back?

 

grep -v ax.init /etc/hosts > x

mv x /etc/hosts


Log in or register to post comments