435 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  March 29, 2018 - 12:21pm
sputnik65's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 13
Kudos: 1

Still no DTS sound on just public released tvOS 11.3.

I was hoping that it will be working since it did not during the betas.

  March 29, 2018 - 12:35pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Online
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 1,377
Kudos: 252

Did you check to see if you still had "auto" selected in Infuse and that tvOS still had "Best Quality Available" selected?

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  March 29, 2018 - 1:01pm
sputnik65's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 13
Kudos: 1
  NC Bullseye wrote:

Did you check to see if you still had "auto" selected in Infuse and that tvOS still had "Best Quality Available" selected?

In Infuse on "auto" I get dolby digital from an DTS track, change it to "passthrough" and get the noise. tvOS has "Best Quality Available".

  March 29, 2018 - 1:28pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Online
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 1,377
Kudos: 252

Firecore recommends that you have "auto" selected in Infuse and that tvOS have "Best Quality Available" selected for the best output.

They have a page that goes into the audio setting a bit that may shed some light on what you're looking for. https://support.firecore.com/hc/en-us/articles/217735707-Audio-Options-t...

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  March 29, 2018 - 2:21pm
james's picture
Staff
Online
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,178
Kudos: 869

There are a few issues we were hoping Apple would resolve before the release of 11.3, and unfortunately this is one of them.

We're looking into potential workarounds for this, but for now you can set to Infuse to Auto and the Apple TV to either Dolby Digital or Best Quality Available to at least have audio working. In fact, this will allow you to have higher quality audio in some cases.

Help get Dolby Atmos on Apple TV (more info)

  March 29, 2018 - 2:35pm
sputnik65's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 13
Kudos: 1

Thanks for the reply James.
Ok... lets see if future releases of 11.3 fixes this issue.
I'm a big fan of DTS and have many flicks and some DTS music audio files that I was seeing the magical "DTS" logo on my Home Theater receiver using with Infuse.
I did manage to get PCM displayed on my Home Theater receiver by doing some tinkering in the audio settings via optical on my LG TV.

  March 29, 2018 - 2:47pm
Zefram5's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 16
Kudos: 4

Is there a petition somewhere to ask Apple to do a real Passthru bypassing the original audio unchanged to the amplifier ?
Is that so complicated ? Every cheap boxes or consoles games does it for ages without any issue !

  March 29, 2018 - 5:12pm
Taucheranzug's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 65
Kudos: 4

...same here. Setting sound to 'Auto' in Infuse when playing a DTS movie gives me Dolby Digital which is sort of ok, but then, that's no "Throughput", is it, as I'd like to have my DTS back. If I set Infuse to 'Throughput', all that I hear is noise... what gives?

  March 29, 2018 - 6:22pm
timstephens24's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 521
Kudos: 106

If you set the Apple TV to 'Best Audio Available' (or something similar) and Infuse to 'Auto', Infuse will decode everything and pass it as LPCM. This is lossless process, so the only thing you'll be missing out on is a light saying AC3 or DTS on your receiver, but it'll be exactly the same audio with nothing missing.

Apple TV 4K --> Denon X6500H 7.1.4 --> LG OLED65C6P
======== SYNOLOGY DS1815+ DS513 ========
iPhone XS Max ||| iPad Pro 10.5

  March 30, 2018 - 1:19am
Taucheranzug's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 65
Kudos: 4

...unfortunately, that's no option for me as my AV receiver is not capable of playing back multi-channel PCM!

  March 30, 2018 - 6:06am
daanodinot's picture
Offline
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 45
Kudos: 0

I have to admit that the main reason I like passthrough is that I see DTS 5.1 displayed on my receiver. It also feels better to not let the Apple TV do decoding that my receiver can do. But yes, both are not very good arguments.

  March 30, 2018 - 7:19am
sputnik65's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 13
Kudos: 1
  KeyMs92 wrote:

I have to admit that the main reason I like passthrough is that I see DTS 5.1 displayed on my receiver. It also feels better to not let the Apple TV do decoding that my receiver can do. But yes, both are not very good arguments.

That glorious [DTS] logo!!!!

  March 30, 2018 - 7:31am
Zefram5's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 16
Kudos: 4

I've just asked Apple for a full passthu audio feature that bypass completely the audio stream unmodified to the amplifier.
You can do it here:
https://www.apple.com/feedback/appletv.html

  March 30, 2018 - 7:47am
sputnik65's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 13
Kudos: 1
  Zefram5 wrote:

I've just asked Apple for a full passthu audio feature that bypass completely the audio stream unmodified to the amplifier.
You can do it here:
https://www.apple.com/feedback/appletv.html

Did the same.

  March 30, 2018 - 8:48am
stefanb.2941's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 48
Kudos: 1

Ah, good to see that I am not alone with that problem.
I also switched to "Auto", so the workaround works (but is no real solution...)

Let's hope that Apple changes this again in the next update!

  March 30, 2018 - 9:57am
Taucheranzug's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 65
Kudos: 4

...also provided feedback on the Apple TV support page. Let's hope that we'll be able to see the DTS logo lit again soon ;-))

  March 30, 2018 - 1:30pm
racer's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

Same problem here.
Disaapointing

  March 30, 2018 - 3:49pm
xskip's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 19
Kudos: 1

Same problem here. No DTS. meh...

  March 31, 2018 - 2:29am
jowi's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 26
Kudos: 2

Infuse is getting worse with every 'update' from Apple...

  March 31, 2018 - 3:20am
racer's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

Just figured out you can't roll back to a previous tvos version on 4K appletv (thank's apple for removing the usb port, -what a vice this company has for removing ports that actually are there for a reason-).

If this doesn't get resolved soon, I will be switching back to Plex.

  March 31, 2018 - 3:58am
Taucheranzug's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 65
Kudos: 4

Plex is not able to handle DTS either and moreover, it has never been, so that would be no improvement.

  March 31, 2018 - 4:38am
racer's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0
  Taucheranzug wrote:

Plex is not able to handle DTS either and moreover, it has never been, so that would be no improvement.

You are right of course, should have added back to the trusty old Mac mini, ain't I glad I didn't get rid of it.

  March 31, 2018 - 6:04am
steelkeys's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 27
Kudos: 6

Seeing the same issue here.
right after Tvos 11.3 DTS sound crashed and its just plain scratching and noise...
Passthrough in infuse is ON, and sound on apple tv is always pick best option/source or what ever its called:)

  March 31, 2018 - 8:50am
toegelr's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 9
Kudos: 0

On my system i must also switch to auto :-(.
Before tvOS 11.3 Infuse working very well !
Is there no chance to make a downgrade from 11.3 ? I musst also switch to AUTO on Dolby Digital Files not only on DTS Files Frown
My Amplifier Pioneer SC-LX81 can PCM but Infuse / AppleTV 4K do not sending PCM Stream. I have always switch to Best Quality on the AppleTV 4K Settings.
Can Firecore anything to going this right again or is this error the fault of tvOS 11.3 ?

  March 31, 2018 - 10:56am
shingfx's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
Kudos: 0

almost no chance to downgrade....
Since that Apple TV 4K don't have usb-c port...
What you can do is ....wait for app update...
otherwise bring your Apple TV to apple store Tongue

  March 31, 2018 - 12:11pm
Taucheranzug's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 65
Kudos: 4

Firecore staff is already trying to find a workaround. The problem seems to be lying in the depths of tvOS 11.3.

  March 31, 2018 - 3:05pm
ronald.vapelt's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 50
Kudos: 8

Same issue here.. before the upgrade to 11.3 DTS was working fine and now I am stucked with just Dolby Digital. I wish I had never done the upgrade on the Apple TV! It is also the most important reason I invested in Infuse and might give me a reason to reconsider the use of Infuse..

  April 1, 2018 - 5:51am
Sizhai81's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 9
Kudos: 0

Same issue in here. But I guess that's the problems of new apple tvos.
Hope to fix it soon

  April 1, 2018 - 10:10am
cesarleeds's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 43
Kudos: 6

This is kind of a mess.

My situation is:

Apple TV on Best Quality Available
Infuse on Auto

I understand this provides lossless audio, Infuse is handling the audio here, i will end up always having the original lossless track only that my AVR will show it as LPCM.

  April 2, 2018 - 3:35am
Ybrouns's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Kudos: 0

same issue here. I had passthrough activated and all was good. Now since yesterday afternoon I only have noice. Need to switch to Auto but it reduces heavily the audio quality.

  April 2, 2018 - 8:13am
LucasBeatz's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Kudos: 0

Same here! Only DD from DTS track if I select auto, otherwise just ugly noise when passthrough on!