991 posts / 0 new / Last post
  February 11, 2020 - 2:38pm
davidahn's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Kudos: 1
  bPlaTyPuS wrote:

Exactly. Perhaps Apple even receives money from the studios to block the passthrough... Or maybe they block it just to attract customers to their own streaming service.

which for me is a nonsense because anyway 95% of the people are using exclusively streaming services... and don't care about this passthrough feature. And I'm pretty sure that for Apple it's only 1 line of code to change to allow it.... so why are they not doing it? Just to increase the 95% to 96%. That's it.

I don't think they get paid to block it, but I do think they get threatening letters from the MPAA of either legal action or pulling material from the iTunes Store.

I agree they should unblock it. But since passthrough used to work. It's not accidental that it no longer works, it's by design.

Infuse Pro 5.7 on 4K Apple TV 11.3 · iPhone X 11.3
Plex Media Server on 2017 iMac quad-core i7 · 12 TB RAID 5
Samsung UN82MU8000 4K TV · Vizio M65-C1 4K TV · Sony VPL-VW600ES 4K PJ

  February 12, 2020 - 12:02pm
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 14,548
Kudos: 1,278
  davidahn wrote:

I am totally up for upgrading for this feature, in fact I’m waiting to buy more until the new ATV is released. But I fear you and I are much too tiny a niche for Apple to piss off the studios to benefit the few of us.

Personally, I don't think the studios have any impact here.

For Apple, their current setup using PCM works well since it allows then to inject UI and/or Siri audio, and this wouldn't be possible when using true passthrough. It would probably be possible to switch between PCM and passthrough depending on the content being played (not unlike frame rate switching). Or, a reasonable compromise would be to allow for more flexible integrations of Dolby MAT v2.0, as this would almost be the best of both worlds. Both would require a bit of work on their end.

Overall, when Apple was designing the Apple TV it's likely they were unaware of how popular this feature would be for those who use apps like Infuse. That's why we're trying to draw as much attention to this as possible by encouraging people to submit feedback as described in the first post.

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  February 12, 2020 - 2:11pm
davidahn's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 18
Kudos: 1
  james wrote:

Personally, I don't think the studios have any impact here.

For Apple, their current setup using PCM works well since it allows then to inject UI and/or Siri audio, and this wouldn't be possible when using true passthrough. It would probably be possible to switch between PCM and passthrough depending on the content being played (not unlike frame rate switching). Or, a reasonable compromise would be to allow for more flexible integrations of Dolby MAT v2.0, as this would almost be the best of both worlds. Both would require a bit of work on their end.

Overall, when Apple was designing the Apple TV it's likely they were unaware of how popular this feature would be for those who use apps like Infuse. That's why we're trying to draw as much attention to this as possible by encouraging people to submit feedback as described in the first post.

Thanks for the insight, James. I certainly hope Apple will allow passthrough soon!

While we wait for Apple to do something, is there any possibility of Infuse doing on-the-fly conversion of TrueHD Atmos tracks to E-AC3 Atmos? I'm much more concerned about getting Atmos working on ATV than I am about TrueHD.

Infuse Pro 5.7 on 4K Apple TV 11.3 · iPhone X 11.3
Plex Media Server on 2017 iMac quad-core i7 · 12 TB RAID 5
Samsung UN82MU8000 4K TV · Vizio M65-C1 4K TV · Sony VPL-VW600ES 4K PJ

  February 12, 2020 - 2:34pm
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 728
Kudos: 66
  davidahn wrote:

Thanks for the insight, James. I certainly hope Apple will allow passthrough soon!

While we wait for Apple to do something, is there any possibility of Infuse doing on-the-fly conversion of TrueHD Atmos tracks to E-AC3 Atmos? I'm much more concerned about getting Atmos working on ATV than I am about TrueHD.

It can’t be done. Dolby does not make a converter to do this. There is also no open source codec that can do this either.

  February 12, 2020 - 2:36pm
munpip214's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 876
Kudos: 130
  davidahn wrote:

Thanks for the insight, James. I certainly hope Apple will allow passthrough soon!

While we wait for Apple to do something, is there any possibility of Infuse doing on-the-fly conversion of TrueHD Atmos tracks to E-AC3 Atmos? I'm much more concerned about getting Atmos working on ATV than I am about TrueHD.

I heard this is not possible because it requires the original Atmos master files that are used to generate TrueHD and E-AC3. There isn’t enough info to do a workable conversion.

Apple TV 4, Apple TV 3, iPhone Xs, iMac 5k, iPad Pro, Airport Extreme, Airport Express, Synology DS916+

  February 12, 2020 - 3:46pm
blenky's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Kudos: 0
  james wrote:

Personally, I don't think the studios have any impact here.

For Apple, their current setup using PCM works well since it allows then to inject UI and/or Siri audio, and this wouldn't be possible when using true passthrough. It would probably be possible to switch between PCM and passthrough depending on the content being played (not unlike frame rate switching). Or, a reasonable compromise would be to allow for more flexible integrations of Dolby MAT v2.0, as this would almost be the best of both worlds. Both would require a bit of work on their end.

Overall, when Apple was designing the Apple TV it's likely they were unaware of how popular this feature would be for those who use apps like Infuse. That's why we're trying to draw as much attention to this as possible by encouraging people to submit feedback as described in the first post.

I really wish there was Infuse on my Shield TV - no such restrictions there!

  February 13, 2020 - 2:10am
liorreem's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 5
Kudos: 1

You have Kodi on your Shield. What else do you need?

  February 13, 2020 - 3:03am
blenky's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Kudos: 0
  liorreem wrote:

You have Kodi on your Shield. What else do you need?

Yes Kodi is excellent and is what I use but I love the simplicity and style of Infuse.

  February 13, 2020 - 5:44am
archer75's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 49
Kudos: 4
  blenky wrote:

I really wish there was Infuse on my Shield TV - no such restrictions there!

why not just use plex? Simple and it does it all.

  February 13, 2020 - 5:49am
xinseo's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 36
Kudos: 5
  blenky wrote:

Yes Kodi is excellent and is what I use but I love the simplicity and style of Infuse.

Something dedicated like Infuse would definitely be smoother on the Shield but Kodi is usually great 99% of the times.

  February 13, 2020 - 6:22am
nathank's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Kudos: 0

So e ac3 for which content local files of any Atmos source will do Eac3

  February 13, 2020 - 6:23am
blenky's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Kudos: 0
  archer75 wrote:

why not just use plex? Simple and it does it all.

Used plex but not a fan. Kodi is great but would like option of Infuse. However don't want to derail this thread taking about android!

  February 13, 2020 - 7:00am
archer75's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 49
Kudos: 4
  blenky wrote:

Used plex but not a fan. Kodi is great but would like option of Infuse. However don't want to derail this thread taking about android!

really? Plex and infuse are soooo similar. Personally I can’t stand kodi.
But I also rarely use my shield as I prefer other devices.

  February 15, 2020 - 7:44pm
nathank's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Kudos: 0

Can any one explain what e ac3 Atmos support in 6.3 is all about. Does it mean any local files with even truehd can be converted in the fly to e ac3 for Atmos play back one would get online streaming like Atmos out even with local files

  February 15, 2020 - 7:57pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3,307
Kudos: 414
  nathank wrote:

Can any one explain what e ac3 Atmos support in 6.3 is all about. Does it mean any local files with even truehd can be converted in the fly to e ac3 for Atmos play back one would get online streaming like Atmos out even with local files

You may want to start a new thread about this since it's kind of off topic from the first post but if you read the last 5 or ten pages of this one you should get the rundown on what it is.

This thread is for getting people to put requests into Apple for better access to Dolby Atmos using apps like Infuse.

If you have questions on Atmos or other options and functions of Infuse a new thread would get you answers without alerting everyone who's posted in this thread that there's a new update when you post in this thread.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  February 15, 2020 - 7:58pm
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 728
Kudos: 66
  nathank wrote:

Can any one explain what e ac3 Atmos support in 6.3 is all about. Does it mean any local files with even truehd can be converted in the fly to e ac3 for Atmos play back one would get online streaming like Atmos out even with local files

If you read previous comments you’d see that it means if you have files that are eac3 with atmos they’ll play back as atmos. TrueHD will still be converted to PCM as it did in previous version.

  February 20, 2020 - 7:39am
chiachiri's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
Kudos: 0

I have some sample contents with Atmos 7.1 DD+, but Infuse 6 Pro still cannot activate Atmos. AVR is still showing PCM (I am able to use Atmos with Netflix and TV+ successfully). Any additional configuration must be done to enable DD+ Atmos with Infuse?

-Fabio Chiachiri

  February 20, 2020 - 9:33am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3,307
Kudos: 414
  chiachiri wrote:

I have some sample contents with Atmos 7.1 DD+, but Infuse 6 Pro still cannot activate Atmos. AVR is still showing PCM (I am able to use Atmos with Netflix and TV+ successfully). Any additional configuration must be done to enable DD+ Atmos with Infuse?

Do your files use E-AC3 for Atmos?

Edit to add, this thread is for getting users to contact Apple and request the additional features as listed in the first post.

If you have issues or questions on how the current implementation works it'd be better to start a new thread so this one doesn't get any more off track. It also makes it easier for people that may have the same question as you to find your post and add to it. Wink

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  February 25, 2020 - 7:07pm
nathank's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Kudos: 0

Can any one confirm if the below audio is hd or E-AC3 or both .

Audio: English / Dolby TrueHD/Atmos Audio / 7.1 / 48 kHz / 2781 kbps / 16-bit (AC3 Embedded: 5.1-EX / 48 kHz / 640 kbps / DN -4dB)

its hard to find any source with specific to E-AC3 can it hold 7.1 channel if so what would be max bit rate it can hold.

  February 25, 2020 - 7:56pm
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 728
Kudos: 66
  nathank wrote:

Can any one confirm if the below audio is hd or E-AC3 or both .

Audio: English / Dolby TrueHD/Atmos Audio / 7.1 / 48 kHz / 2781 kbps / 16-bit (AC3 Embedded: 5.1-EX / 48 kHz / 640 kbps / DN -4dB)

its hard to find any source with specific to E-AC3 can it hold 7.1 channel if so what would be max bit rate it can hold.

It’s TrueHD with atmos. Eac3 with atmos is usually called “eac3 JOC (joint object coding)”.

  March 22, 2020 - 5:21am
mensa's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 64
Kudos: 3

Hello,

can someone please help me to understand this? Which files usually does have E-AC3 Atmos? Is this really rare or can blu-ray ripping tools create that E-AC3?

  March 22, 2020 - 6:23am
munpip214's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 876
Kudos: 130
  mensa wrote:

Hello,

can someone please help me to understand this? Which files usually does have E-AC3 Atmos? Is this really rare or can blu-ray ripping tools create that E-AC3?

Rare. Mostly demo files or random things. No way to convert True-HD atm

Apple TV 4, Apple TV 3, iPhone Xs, iMac 5k, iPad Pro, Airport Extreme, Airport Express, Synology DS916+

  March 22, 2020 - 7:03am
liorreem's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 5
Kudos: 1

So all this big headline on bringing Atmos to Infuse is completely usless...
You raised my hopes so high..... for nothing.

  March 22, 2020 - 7:13am
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 728
Kudos: 66
  liorreem wrote:

So all this big headline on bringing Atmos to Infuse is completely usless...
You raised my hopes so high..... for nothing.

Webrips from online sources all have eac3 atmos. A lot of people have these.

  March 22, 2020 - 7:45am
liorreem's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 5
Kudos: 1
  JarvisMeier wrote:

Webrips from online sources all have eac3 atmos. A lot of people have these.

Thanks. I will check it.

  March 22, 2020 - 7:48am
liorreem's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 5
Kudos: 1
  JarvisMeier wrote:

Webrips from online sources all have eac3 atmos. A lot of people have these.

Can you give an example? I never encountered Webrip with AC3 and Atmos.
Say, for example:

XXXXXXX 2019 1080p WEB-DL H264 AC3-EVO

This is Webrip with AC3 right?

Should I look for Atmos WEB-DL?

EDIT:
Yes I see now:
Star.Wars.Episode.IX.The.Rise.of.Skywalker.2019.2160p.HDR.HEVC.WEB-DL.DDP5.1.Atmos.x265-Telly

  March 22, 2020 - 11:10am
chiachiri's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
Kudos: 0

Look for DDP (Dolby Digital Plus) versions.

-Fabio Chiachiri

  March 22, 2020 - 12:28pm
mensa's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 64
Kudos: 3

Why DDP?

  March 22, 2020 - 12:43pm
munpip214's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 876
Kudos: 130

AC3 is just Dolby Digital (no Atmos). EAC3 is Dolby Digital Plus (DDP) with Atmos capability.

Apple TV 4, Apple TV 3, iPhone Xs, iMac 5k, iPad Pro, Airport Extreme, Airport Express, Synology DS916+

  March 22, 2020 - 1:08pm
chiachiri's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
Kudos: 0

Basically:

Atmos runs on 2 Dolby codecs:
=> TrueHD (lossless), which are delivered by UHD medias (no compatible with Infuse due to Apple’s restrictions)
=> Dolby Digital Plus (DDP or EAC3), which is a compress way to delivery Atmos on VOD (Netflix, Apple TV+, etc)

-Fabio Chiachiri