721 posts / 0 new / Last post
  July 2, 2018 - 1:55am
VelimirSaban's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 33
Kudos: 2
  riddle wrote:

I made feedback on Atmos too... Smile

Me too. Fingers crossed.

  July 2, 2018 - 3:59pm
IMWhizzle's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 134
Kudos: 27
  VelimirSaban wrote:

Me too. Fingers crossed.

Nice, keep them coming guys. The more feedback requests are sent, the more Apple takes it serious.

  July 2, 2018 - 4:07pm
astirling's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 144
Kudos: 32

What are you feeding back though? We know atmos is coming in TVOS 12

  July 2, 2018 - 4:14pm
IMWhizzle's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 134
Kudos: 27

Atmos has two forms, one is the lossy version and the other is the lossless version which is identical to the Atmos tracks on an UHD disc or ISO file.

Only the lossy version will be supported as far as we know.

  July 2, 2018 - 8:36pm
gbastug's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 22
Kudos: 4
  IMWhizzle wrote:

Atmos has two forms, one is the lossy version and the other is the lossless version which is identical to the Atmos tracks on an UHD disc or ISO file.

Only the lossy version will be supported as far as we know.

We don’t know anything, at least from Apple. There’s been no statement one way or the other.

  July 3, 2018 - 11:48am
munpip214's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 562
Kudos: 90

Beta 3 is up!

Apple TV 4, Apple TV 3, iPhone Xs, iMac 5k, iPad Pro, Airport Extreme, Airport Express, Synology DS916+

  July 3, 2018 - 11:55am
mrrobotoplus's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 81
Kudos: 7

Developer?

  July 3, 2018 - 12:29pm
riddle's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Kudos: 2
  munpip214 wrote:

Beta 3 is up!

it is public beta 3 ?

  July 3, 2018 - 12:37pm
munpip214's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 562
Kudos: 90

Dev beta 3. There has only been one public beta, so the next one would be PB2

Apple TV 4, Apple TV 3, iPhone Xs, iMac 5k, iPad Pro, Airport Extreme, Airport Express, Synology DS916+

  July 3, 2018 - 1:05pm
msnow's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 104
Kudos: 16
  riddle wrote:

it is public beta 3 ?

I don't know what they will call it but based on past history it should be available to the public very soon. It could even be today. It will likely be the same version we just got.

  July 3, 2018 - 1:34pm
claire78's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 30
Kudos: 3
  msnow wrote:

I don't know what they will call it but based on past history it should be available to the public very soon. It could even be today. It will likely be the same version we just got.

Everything same.. No atmos Frown

  July 3, 2018 - 1:48pm
astirling's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 144
Kudos: 32
  claire78 wrote:

Everything same.. No atmos Frown

It’s had atmos since the last release. It was available in iTunes content which has since been pulled and is still available via the vudu app

  July 3, 2018 - 2:05pm
claire78's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 30
Kudos: 3
  astirling wrote:

It’s had atmos since the last release. It was available in iTunes content which has since been pulled and is still available via the vudu app

This is Infuse forum, right? Smile
I speak about atmos in Infuse. Wink

  July 3, 2018 - 2:19pm
astirling's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 144
Kudos: 32
  claire78 wrote:

This is Infuse forum, right? Smile
I speak about atmos in Infuse. Wink

Then no beta will change that. It requires infuse to update their app.

  July 3, 2018 - 10:20pm
lasthero's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Kudos: 1
  astirling wrote:

Then no beta will change that. It requires infuse to update their app.

Agreed.

Vudu app supports atmos output on beta OS then I believe Infuse should able to support it either, just wait Infuse developer to implement it.

Hope Infuse can have a beta version either, to enable atmos on tvOS 12 beta 3.

  July 5, 2018 - 8:52am
JS.9125's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 68
Kudos: 10

Have tested these two files https://www.dolby.com/us/en/guide/test-tones.html
No luck with Infuse yet, but Plex passes Atmos through.The files are EAC3.
Perhaps Apple will only allow Atmos in EAC3 and not in TrueHD
Fingers crossed

  July 5, 2018 - 11:46am
munpip214's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 562
Kudos: 90

Public Beta 2 now available

Apple TV 4, Apple TV 3, iPhone Xs, iMac 5k, iPad Pro, Airport Extreme, Airport Express, Synology DS916+

  July 5, 2018 - 12:11pm
riddle's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 12
Kudos: 2

And how its works?

  July 5, 2018 - 1:40pm
JarvisMeier's picture
Online
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 231
Kudos: 18
  JS.9125 wrote:

Have tested these two files https://www.dolby.com/us/en/guide/test-tones.html
No luck with Infuse yet, but Plex passes Atmos through.The files are EAC3.
Perhaps Apple will only allow Atmos in EAC3 and not in TrueHD
Fingers crossed

You’re probably correct. If that’s the case Atmos is useless for most local content. Pretty much every rip out is Atmos+TrueHD.

  July 5, 2018 - 2:15pm
astirling's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 144
Kudos: 32
  riddle wrote:

And how its works?

Pretty much the same as the last one. What would you like to see improved?

  July 5, 2018 - 2:26pm
JS.9125's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 68
Kudos: 10
  JarvisMeier wrote:

You’re probably correct. If that’s the case Atmos is useless for most local content. Pretty much every rip out is Atmos+TrueHD.

Yes..That true. But we can still hope

  July 5, 2018 - 2:43pm
Sevenfeet's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Kudos: 0

There's not much use to further commentary here until FireCore gets back here with their findings. The fact that tvOS 12 was going to get Atmos wasn't really a secret or a surprise before WWDC. And I'm not completely surprised that a single developer (Vudu) has a (mostly) working app when the first Developer betas dropped. It's not unusual for a few developers to get early access to a new feature even before reveal at WWDC. And that includes access to the development team themselves since documentation is often sparse or incomplete. Vudu already had an entire server farm full of titles with DD+ Atmos tracks for other platforms...it made sense to reach out to them.

Firecore and the Infuse app are likely way down on the priority list for getting this technology working. Right now, I'd say the list looks like this:

1. Movie/TV streaming (iTunes, Vudu, Netflix, Amazon Prime)
2. Gaming
3. Local playback (Plex, Infuse)

I still expect this feature to make it to Infuse eventually since the same APIs would be used for the gaming community too. We'll see.

  July 5, 2018 - 2:50pm
astirling's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 144
Kudos: 32

My guess is that atmos is automatically enabled for the native player so any service using that AND serving up content will find that atmos is working.

  July 5, 2018 - 4:16pm
patrice.moracchini's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 30
Kudos: 0

I tried a Dolby Digital + file with Atmos on plex and all I get is lpcm 5.1. Can you give me your settings please?

  July 5, 2018 - 4:16pm
JS.9125's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 68
Kudos: 10
  astirling wrote:

My guess is that atmos is automatically enabled for the native player so any service using that AND serving up content will find that atmos is working.

I really hope you are correct Smile

  July 5, 2018 - 4:18pm
JS.9125's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 68
Kudos: 10
  patrice.moracchini wrote:

I tried a Dolby Digital + file with Atmos on plex and all I get is lpcm 5.1. Can you give me your settings please?

You must be on tvOS 12 beta 2 or 3

  July 5, 2018 - 4:30pm
patrice.moracchini's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 30
Kudos: 0

I have tvos 12 beta 3, I set the audio output on atmos in settings. is there anything else to set?

  July 5, 2018 - 4:32pm
JS.9125's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 68
Kudos: 10
  patrice.moracchini wrote:

I have tvos 12 beta 3, I set the audio output on atmos in settings. is there anything else to set?

No that should be it. Add the two test files to Plex and you can hear Dolby Atmos. It sounds amasing

  July 5, 2018 - 4:36pm
patrice.moracchini's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 30
Kudos: 0

My test file works perfectly on my server Qnap and kodi but the Apple TV only deliver lpcm 5.1. I'm this close to get a Shield.

  July 5, 2018 - 4:39pm
JS.9125's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 68
Kudos: 10

So am I. Have all ready ordered one. For testing
Just remember. This is not Infuse fault. its a limitation on the ATV