21 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  January 7, 2019 - 5:50pm
Dandemon's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 19
Kudos: 3

I've tested this thoroughly before posting.

I have a 4K AppleTV linked to a brand new, high end Sony X90F via a Belkin ultra high speed cable. The pair can connect happily on 4K Dolby Vision 50hz, HDR and presumably all the lower settings too.

With the AppleTV on 4K Dolby Vision or 4K HDR, Infuse works fine so long as the video settings 'match dynamic range' and 'match frame rate' are set to OFF. When either of those settings are turned ON, I get a crash on playing a movie and the TV reports 'no HDMI signal'. It's as though the entire AppleTV has crashed, although the remote still seems to trigger the AppleTV's LED indicator and I can sometimes exit to the AppleTV main menu.

To be clear, this is NOT the normal brief change to black screen that happens when the AppleTV shifts video standard. It stays black. It doesn't come back no matter how long I wait.

Restarting the AppleTV doesn't work. Doing a full restart of the Sony TV (which runs on Android) DOES work for a while, but it flakes out again. I'm on the latest version of Infuse, TVOS and Android TV.

Also, in case you're wondering: I want to turn 'match dynamic range' and 'match frame rate' on for picture quality reasons. The video playback quality when left on default settings looks washed out and too low in colour saturation.

  January 7, 2019 - 6:56pm
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 350
Kudos: 28
  Dandemon wrote:

I've tested this thoroughly before posting.

I have a 4K AppleTV linked to a brand new, high end Sony X90F via a Belkin ultra high speed cable. The pair can connect happily on 4K Dolby Vision 50hz, HDR and presumably all the lower settings too.

With the AppleTV on 4K Dolby Vision or 4K HDR, Infuse works fine so long as the video settings 'match dynamic range' and 'match frame rate' are set to OFF. When either of those settings are turned ON, I get a crash on playing a movie and the TV reports 'no HDMI signal'. It's as though the entire AppleTV has crashed, although the remote still seems to trigger the AppleTV's LED indicator and I can sometimes exit to the AppleTV main menu.

To be clear, this is NOT the normal brief change to black screen that happens when the AppleTV shifts video standard. It stays black. It doesn't come back no matter how long I wait.

Restarting the AppleTV doesn't work. Doing a full restart of the Sony TV (which runs on Android) DOES work for a while, but it flakes out again. I'm on the latest version of Infuse, TVOS and Android TV.

Also, in case you're wondering: I want to turn 'match dynamic range' and 'match frame rate' on for picture quality reasons. The video playback quality when left on default settings looks washed out and too low in colour saturation.

This sounds like a hardware or handshake issue. Try with a new cable. Additionally does the same thing happen when watching content in other apps with match options turned on?

  January 7, 2019 - 8:59pm
Dandemon's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 19
Kudos: 3

Thanks Jarvis. I'm actually using a new cable. The AppleTV had problems with an earlier, lower spec cable that was allegedly HDMI 2.0b but could only do 18 Gbps. The new one is 48 Gbps. There's no upgrade from that.

I did test Netflix out on the AppleTV with the matched settings and it worked OK.

To be honest I'd be more likely to blame the TV, but I'm posting here to see if any others with the 2018 generation Sony TVs are getting the issue.

  January 7, 2019 - 9:35pm
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 350
Kudos: 28
  Dandemon wrote:

Thanks Jarvis. I'm actually using a new cable. The AppleTV had problems with an earlier, lower spec cable that was allegedly HDMI 2.0b but could only do 18 Gbps. The new one is 48 Gbps. There's no upgrade from that.

I did test Netflix out on the AppleTV with the matched settings and it worked OK.

To be honest I'd be more likely to blame the TV, but I'm posting here to see if any others with the 2018 generation Sony TVs are getting the issue.

Just to tick all the boxes have you upgraded the firmware on the TV?

  January 7, 2019 - 9:38pm
Dandemon's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 19
Kudos: 3

Yes - as per my original post.

  January 8, 2019 - 2:35am
viorelovidiu's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 9
Kudos: 2

The recommended settings on ATV 4K should be 4K SDR 50/60HZ according your contry and match framerate/dynamic range should be on. Try with this settings and DV/HDR will be engaged only with proper video files/streaming. Keeping DV engaged all the time would not be that good for the TV (overburn may appear).
I have the same setup initially and now atv4k is going through soundbar HT-ZF9. No issues at all

  January 8, 2019 - 6:23am
Dandemon's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 19
Kudos: 3

I have to be honest - coming back to the TV tonight, I can't reproduce the problem. I'm assuming some glitch at the HDMI driver end on the TV.

Your advice was on the money though. I switched the base video setting to 4K SDR and left Frame rate and Dynamic Range matching on. It switched up to Dolby Vision when it needed to play that content. It then dawned on me that this is what the Sony TV does itself - its home navigation screen is definitely 4K SDR, and it only switches up for content.

Thanks for making my experience a lot more enjoyable guys!

  February 11, 2019 - 5:19am
Gagalari's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Kudos: 0

Hey Dandemon,

Did you never recognize this problem again? I have same issue with a Samsung TV. But everytime i fix it with try and error method change hdmi, ..., works for a while (about 2-3 weeks) and then i have the same issue again. I think too it's something with the settings "match dynamic range" and "match frame rate" because after switching to black screen, the screen doesn't turn on again.

Can you tell what exactly you have done, to fix this permanentally? Only difference i have in my settings is i have 4K HDR than 4K SDR set. Can't this really be the cause?

Thanks for your reply and any other help is welcome.

  February 11, 2019 - 8:02am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,238
Kudos: 350
  Gagalari wrote:

Hey Dandemon,

Did you never recognize this problem again? I have same issue with a Samsung TV. But everytime i fix it with try and error method change hdmi, ..., works for a while (about 2-3 weeks) and then i have the same issue again. I think too it's something with the settings "match dynamic range" and "match frame rate" because after switching to black screen, the screen doesn't turn on again.

Can you tell what exactly you have done, to fix this permanentally? Only difference i have in my settings is i have 4K HDR than 4K SDR set. Can't this really be the cause?

Thanks for your reply and any other help is welcome.

If the native mode for your tv is 4K SDR then I'd say keep the setting at 4K SDR and let it switch to HDR only when needed. It wouldn't hurt to try it for a few weeks and see if that stops the problem.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  February 11, 2019 - 8:45am
Dandemon's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 19
Kudos: 3
  NC Bullseye wrote:

If the native mode for your tv is 4K SDR then I'd say keep the setting at 4K SDR and let it switch to HDR only when needed. It wouldn't hurt to try it for a few weeks and see if that stops the problem.

This is what worked for me. All has gone without a hitch since then.

  February 11, 2019 - 1:47pm
Gagalari's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Kudos: 0
  NC Bullseye wrote:

If the native mode for your tv is 4K SDR then I'd say keep the setting at 4K SDR and let it switch to HDR only when needed. It wouldn't hurt to try it for a few weeks and see if that stops the problem.

But why should be the native mode of a tv which was released in 2018 4K SDR and not 4K HDR?
When i change the settings the picture for example in screen saver mode of apple tv is not as good, because it's just 4K SDR. Does somebody know, when exactly does apple tv change to HDR, with setting "match dynamic range"?

  February 11, 2019 - 2:15pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,238
Kudos: 350
  Gagalari wrote:

But why should be the native mode of a tv which was released in 2018 4K SDR and not 4K HDR?
When i change the settings the picture for example in screen saver mode of apple tv is not as good, because it's just 4K SDR. Does somebody know, when exactly does apple tv change to HDR, with setting "match dynamic range"?

My guess is that running HDR is a bit more taxing on the panel and SDR increases the life of the panel. For your second question, google is your friend.

After googling your exact question, the first response is https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208288

Basically, when your content is HDR it switches to HDR and if your content is SDR then it stays in SDR.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  February 11, 2019 - 2:32pm
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 350
Kudos: 28
  Gagalari wrote:

But why should be the native mode of a tv which was released in 2018 4K SDR and not 4K HDR?
When i change the settings the picture for example in screen saver mode of apple tv is not as good, because it's just 4K SDR. Does somebody know, when exactly does apple tv change to HDR, with setting "match dynamic range"?

It’s probably some sort of software issue with either your TV or the Apple TV. I have no issue running in HDR/Dolby Vision on my LG OLED as the main display driver. I’d definitely recommend filing a bug report with Apple and your TV maker.

  February 11, 2019 - 2:39pm
Gagalari's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Kudos: 0

[quote=NC Bullseye]

My guess is that running HDR is a bit more taxing on the panel and SDR increases the life of the panel. For your second question, google is your friend.

After googling your exact question, the first response is https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208288

Basically, when your content is HDR it switches to HDR and if your content is SDR then it stays in SDR.[/ quote]

The answer can‘t be right, because screen savers are hdr it stays in sdr. YouTube some movies are in hdr it stays in sdr and the articke does not give an answer, when exactly it change the dynamic range.

  February 11, 2019 - 3:56pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,238
Kudos: 350
  Gagalari wrote:

The answer can‘t be right, because screen savers are hdr it stays in sdr. YouTube some movies are in hdr it stays in sdr and the articke does not give an answer, when exactly it change the dynamic range.

Can you provide an Apple source that states the screensavers are HDR files? The only sources I've seen have determined the aerial screen savers are in DV or SD.

And as I stated above and as verified in the Apple tech article it switches to HDR when a player (like Infuse) plays a file that is encoded in HDR which is exactly what happens when the settings are set as recommended above. As to youtube or any other streaming service I can't address how they provide their content.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  February 14, 2019 - 3:30am
Dandemon's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 19
Kudos: 3

I agree with the above. Having used the AppleTV a while I certainly don’t want HDR for general menu use etc. I still think Infuse should be fixed to work for those who want otherwise.

For example, on the 2015 Sony TVs you need to set AppleTV on HDR all the time or you won’t get Dolby Vision through the Netflix app. That’s a legacy issue and it’s nothing to do with Infuse - I just mention it as an example of users who need to default to HDR and may get the problem in my original post.

  March 7, 2019 - 11:28pm
Gagalari's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Kudos: 0

Know i buy a new hdmi cable and setup the apple tv as descriped above. I thought problem is fixed.
But yesterday i run in same issue again. Any other suggestion how can i fix this problem?

  March 8, 2019 - 11:38pm
AtticanSilver's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Kudos: 0

Go to settings and then Storage and Reset and do a factory reset. If you haven’t done this already of course.

Hope that helps.

  March 9, 2019 - 12:30am
Gagalari's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Kudos: 0

Sure i did this. Nothing helps.

  March 9, 2019 - 7:07am
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 350
Kudos: 28

Does the crash happen in other apps such as Netflix?

  March 9, 2019 - 8:09am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,238
Kudos: 350
  JarvisMeier wrote:

Does the crash happen in other apps such as Netflix?

I believe it's only available in Netflix premium plan so if the poster has the regular plan it won't show. Just a side note.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•