7 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  April 1, 2019 - 4:14am
mouldyolddough's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 26
Kudos: 0

On V5, there was the option of "Auto" or "Passthrough" in the Audio Out options but I notice this is not available on V6. Is this correct? How does it handle the audio DTS HD? My amp (Sony STR-DN1080) is just showing LPCM.

I am using an ATV 4K.

  April 1, 2019 - 7:45am
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 482
Kudos: 48
  mouldyolddough wrote:

On V5, there was the option of "Auto" or "Passthrough" in the Audio Out options but I notice this is not available on V6. Is this correct? How does it handle the audio DTS HD? My amp (Sony STR-DN1080) is just showing LPCM.

I am using an ATV 4K.

Apple killed passthrough post tvOS 11.3. The option was removed because it didn’t do anything anymore and was confusing end users.

  April 1, 2019 - 8:08am
mouldyolddough's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 26
Kudos: 0

Thanks.

How is the audio handled? Will my amp always just show LPCM?

  April 1, 2019 - 9:57am
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,807
Kudos: 1,154

Yes, since LPCM is an uncompressed (lossless) format, you will always get the best quality available to you.

A bit more info on how this works can be found here.

https://support.firecore.com/hc/en-us/articles...

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  April 1, 2019 - 10:05am
mrbojangles's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
Kudos: 1

got my answer.

  April 1, 2019 - 10:07am
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,807
Kudos: 1,154
  mrbojangles wrote:

So if i downgraded my atv 4k to ios11.3 would audio passthru and infuse 6 work and flag the amp?

You would need to use a version earlier than 11.3, but AFAIK Apple does not allow the tvOS software to be downgraded.

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  April 3, 2019 - 2:01am
mouldyolddough's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 26
Kudos: 0
  james wrote:

Yes, since LPCM is an uncompressed (lossless) format, you will always get the best quality available to you.

A bit more info on how this works can be found here.

https://support.firecore.com/hc/en-us/articles...

Thanks James.