7 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  June 14, 2019 - 3:18pm
dnoerholm's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 36
Kudos: 0

I've been using Infuse for more then 2 years now, and for the most of the time theres been no problems.

A time ago I started to experience some randomly occurring problems with the loading of big files on SMB. See this post: https://firecore.com/forum/topic/22470
The problems did not disappear, but it was rarely.

Now I can't use SMB at all. Whenever i'm trying to play a file Infuse comes with: "an error occurred loading this content". I tried to remove the SMB share, and reinstall it, but the error just shows up doing the setup.

I can use the UpNP setup without any kind of problems.

What is happening..?

  June 14, 2019 - 5:45pm
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 482
Kudos: 48
  dnoerholm wrote:

I've been using Infuse for more then 2 years now, and for the most of the time theres been no problems.

A time ago I started to experience some randomly occurring problems with the loading of big files on SMB. See this post: https://firecore.com/forum/topic/22470
The problems did not disappear, but it was rarely.

Now I can't use SMB at all. Whenever i'm trying to play a file Infuse comes with: "an error occurred loading this content". I tried to remove the SMB share, and reinstall it, but the error just shows up doing the setup.

I can use the UpNP setup without any kind of problems.

What is happening..?

Windows workstation hosting the file? If so I’d recommend checking windows event viewer.

  June 15, 2019 - 12:47am
dnoerholm's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 36
Kudos: 0

Nope, the files are hosted by a Seagate PersonalCloud Harddrive. Thats running some kind of Linux

Infuse on ATV4 - it rocks!

  June 15, 2019 - 10:34am
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 482
Kudos: 48
  dnoerholm wrote:

Nope, the files are hosted by a Seagate PersonalCloud Harddrive. Thats running some kind of Linux

It should have log files on the device that you can view. If the NAS has any sort of ip blocking or firewall/security software try disabling that.

  August 10, 2019 - 10:42am
Tazintosh's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
Kudos: 0

I've to admit that SMB have always been a real pain with Infuse.
Two years ago, we were already discussing those connections issue right here on the forum.

Today, I've tried again:
• Fresh new install of Infuse 6
• SMB running (and working cause I'm using it every day to work) on my Mac mini macOS server.
• Infuse won't connect, ever.
• Documents.app (from Readdle), do connect…
• SMB is the one protocol I would like to use. Simple:
- Apple has no FTP server by default, security is soso
- Apple have dropped WebDAV UI
- NFS and SFTP need much intensive setup to avoid anyone browsing the complete server drive = security concern
- this leave us with SMB, on macOS.
• Please note that Infuse v5 is providing an option to select what SMB version to use, and I can access my server with SMB1
• So unless this feature is hidden somewhere, looks like we have a regression here.

  August 10, 2019 - 11:18am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,597
Kudos: 372
  Tazintosh wrote:

I've to admit that SMB have always been a real pain with Infuse.
Two years ago, we were already discussing those connections issue right here on the forum.

Today, I've tried again:
• Fresh new install of Infuse 6
• SMB running (and working cause I'm using it every day to work) on my Mac mini macOS server.
• Infuse won't connect, ever.
• Documents.app (from Readdle), do connect…
• SMB is the one protocol I would like to use. Simple:
- Apple has no FTP server by default, security is soso
- Apple have dropped WebDAV UI
- NFS and SFTP need much intensive setup to avoid anyone browsing the complete server drive = security concern
- this leave us with SMB, on macOS.
• Please note that Infuse v5 is providing an option to select what SMB version to use, and I can access my server with SMB1
• So unless this feature is hidden somewhere, looks like we have a regression here.

Settings > Shares > Saved Shares (Select the share you want to set SMB version on) > Edit Share > Advanced > Select SMB version you want > Save

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  August 10, 2019 - 11:23am
Tazintosh's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 9
Kudos: 0
  NC Bullseye wrote:

Settings > Shares > Saved Shares (Select the share you want to set SMB version on) > Edit Share > Advanced > Select SMB version you want > Save

Oh boy, it was there, but still non visible to my eyes.
Not sure we are following Apple's Guidelines here, since texts on grey area are more maint for labelling.
Anyway, it worked! Thanks you Bullseye.