17 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  October 3, 2019 - 11:59pm
besjapan's picture
Kudos: 0

Infuse newbie here...After reading all the positive things about Infuse I plan to install it on my Apple TV 4K arriving in a day or two. I have been running a Plex server on my NAS to watch my ripped (mkv) bluray movies. I’ve read that Plex is a bit better than Infuse at handling the metadata and presentation end of things. I had the following questions: What is the process of linking Infuse with Plex like so that I can have Infuse direct play my files? Which app needs to be configured? Which app should I install first? Am I better off not bothering with Plex at all?

Any answers/ advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.

October 5, 2019 - 9:56am
NC Bullseye's picture
Kudos: 380

Welcome to the forum!

It all boils down to personal preference. There are users on both sides of the fence and I'm on the no Plex side. From day one Infuse has been everything I need and doesn't require an app running on another machine 24/7 to keep things running in the background. Others have come from using Plex to wanting the superior features for playback and presentation that Infuse offers and they want to incorporate the two.

If you're not currently running Plex then you have absolutely nothing to lose by trying Infuse as it was designed for standalone use. If at some point you just find you can't live without one of the niche features Plex provides then you can at that time incorporate the Plex server.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

October 5, 2019 - 10:06am
besjapan's picture

Thank you for the advice, Bullseye. That sounds like a good plan. I am used to Plex but I suppose I could learn to live without it. Whatever I end up doing I'll post here again in a few days with my impressions/ experience (and quite possibly questions).

October 5, 2019 - 10:42am
elchupete's picture
Beta Tester
Kudos: 86

Hi and welcome,