6 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  November 4, 2019 - 1:00am
Themixedtape's picture
Kudos: 0

Hi there.

I’m new to infuse and am currently just using my PC which always needs to be on as my infuse library. I am looking at getting a NAS so that I can store all the media on there and allow the infuse library to stream from there. I can’t decide between two Synology setups and I am not sure if I need the more expensive one or if the cheaper one will be sufficient enough.

I rip blu rays and have a few 4K movies so it will need to have 4K streaming capabilities (which I believe the infuse app allows)

The two NAS’s are:
DS718+ : this is more expensive but it states it can transcode 4K.

DS218+: cheaper but will it allow me to stream 4K?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

November 4, 2019 - 8:13am
NC Bullseye's picture
Kudos: 380

Welcome to the forum!

There have been several threads recently about choosing a NAS and here's one that may help you narrow down your search.

https://firecore.com/forum/topic/23772

Personally, I'd go for the gusto. While the lesser NAS may work you will most likely find that you could have really used some of the features the more loaded unit has to offer. I'm considering the 918+ myself after spending a mind numbing period of time comparing the options.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

November 4, 2019 - 8:51am
JarvisMeier's picture
Beta Tester
Kudos: 52