36 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  January 10, 2020 - 1:22am
brad_the_dad's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 17
Kudos: 1

I've got an issue on both iOS iPad running latest Infuse and my Apple TV 4K

Neither iOS or ATV4K recognize Blue Bloods files (season 5 or season 6) as TV shows

Some notes to perhaps further characterize the issue:

Both of iPad and ATV4K recognize the Better Call Saul season 3 folder contents as TV shows (iOS even has the nice episode indicators) - but I added that back in fall of 2017, so it is nicely in my Metadata cache on iOS

If I go to the "Edit Metadata" from one of those Blue Bloods episodes and try to Search .. I get "Nothing Found" for ANY TV show name I try typing. Even if I type the name of a movie at that point, I get "Nothing Found"

I've got the files labeled "Blue Bloods S06E01.m4v" .. etc from season 6 and "Blue.Bloods.S05E01.HDTV.mp4" .. etc from season 5

Those Blue Bloods seasons were added in the last week .. season 6 tonight

[SOLVED]
Maybe not so much "solved", but all issues eventually went away.
I did a couple restarts of both the iPad Air 2 and ATV 4K - forced a rescan - and everything started working.
Blue Bloods:

  • was recognized as a TV show
  • the "Edit Metadata" option showed the recognized TV title and several alternatives .. and the Search stopped returning "Nothing Found"

I've gotta think there was some temporary flakiness over at TheTVDB.com

Oh and just to note that I originally had the majority of Season 5 files labeled with:

"Blue.Bloods.501.HDTV-blah.mp4"

instead of:

"Blue.Bloods.S05E01.mp4"

and it was true that the more rigorous 'S05E01' format was recognized, where the '501' was not. Of course the '.HDTV-blah' stuff might have caused the breakage, but I'm moving on at this point.

  January 10, 2020 - 4:57am
remotevisitor's picture
Offline
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 404
Kudos: 37

When I had a similar problem in the past on my ATV when the search found nothing at all when it should have found something, a reboot of the ATV solved the problem for me. See if that also works for you.

  January 10, 2020 - 7:29am
swat303's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Kudos: 1

Same Thing here yesterday used to work fine but today won't fetch metadata even clicking edit Metadata I get "Nothing Found" on my Ipad Air 1.

Attachments: 
  January 10, 2020 - 9:06am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394
  swat303 wrote:

Same Thing here yesterday used to work fine but today won't fetch metadata even clicking edit Metadata I get "Nothing Found" on my Ipad Air 1.

Did you try a restart of the OS as recommended in the post by remotevisitor?

Also did you try typing in something in the search box? Infuse will start looking when you start typing into the search box. Try entering "Better" without the quotes and see if that helps. Then try typing in the whole name "Better Call Saul".

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 10, 2020 - 9:42am
swat303's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Kudos: 1
  NC Bullseye wrote:

Did you try a restart of the OS as recommended in the post by remotevisitor?

Also did you try typing in something in the search box? Infuse will start looking when you start typing into the search box. Try entering "Better" without the quotes and see if that helps. Then try typing in the whole name "Better Call Saul".

Yes I did multiple times, at first I thought It was a network issue so I tried another connection changed DNS still nothing, I'm using the pro version so I reinstalled it multiple times and even tried the non-pro version to see if the problem persists and still wont fetch.

  January 10, 2020 - 12:16pm
andreb81's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Kudos: 0

Same problem here, most of the series I add isn't recognized in Infuse 5 Pro or Infuse 6. Castle Rocks Season 1 and 2 are the only ones which worked, the rest just gives "Nothing found" as I try to edit the metadata. Examples of series which are not recognized is: Game of Thones (season 7 and 8), Grand Tour (Season 3), Twin Peaks (Season 3) and many more.

Maybe its related to this change at TVDB:
https://forums.thetvdb.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t...

Edit: Young Sheldon (Season 1, 2, 3) works fine. Very weird, most series doesn't load the metadata while a few do.

  January 10, 2020 - 12:23pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394

Just trying to gather some more info.

Is everyone running Infuse 6.2.5?

When you just say "the latest release" often people don't realize there has been a new release in the last few days and that may make all the difference. Smile

Also the complete version of the OS would help.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 10, 2020 - 12:33pm
andreb81's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Kudos: 0

I'm on iPad OS 13.3 on my Ipad 11 Pro using Infuse 6.2.5 (2888).

I usually use Infuse 5 Pro as I haven't bothered upgrading to 6 yet so installed Infuse 6 to check if it might be a 5 Pro- problem and both versions have the same problem with fetching metadata on most shows.

  January 10, 2020 - 12:46pm
swat303's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Kudos: 1
  NC Bullseye wrote:

Just trying to gather some more info.

Is everyone running Infuse 6.2.5?

When you just say "the latest release" often people don't realize there has been a new release in the last few days and that may make all the difference. Smile

Also the complete version of the OS would help.

Yes I'm on the latest update 6.2.5 on IOS 12.4, I added The Sopranos All seasons and it fetched all metadata without issues, It seems most TV shows are effected by this.

  January 10, 2020 - 1:38pm
caoxman's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0
  swat303 wrote:

Same Thing here yesterday used to work fine but today won't fetch metadata even clicking edit Metadata I get "Nothing Found" on my Ipad Air 1.

I'm having the exact same problem! I have an iPad Pro 9.7" and Infuse Pro 4.3.7. I'm having issues trying to get South Park metadata...

If I have no south park info in the filename (for example: 01x02.avi), I can search for south park but it doesn't retreive the TV Show... If I configure the filename like South Park 01x01, when I try to edit the metadata, the search doesn't give me anything...

  January 10, 2020 - 1:58pm
Roger Weir's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2018
Posts: 20
Kudos: 3

Yep, same problem here. It won’t recognise MASH (stars omitted for the post) TV series. Nothing I type into the search box is found. Using Infuse 6.2.5 (2888).

  January 10, 2020 - 2:00pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394

With all of the recent changes at thetvdb it very well could be issues with Infuse versions prior to 6. Just thinking out loud.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 10, 2020 - 2:03pm
caoxman's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0
  NC Bullseye wrote:

With all of the recent changes at thetvdb it very well could be issues with Infuse versions prior to 6. Just thinking out loud.

I've downloaded the free version of infuse 6 and same issue...

  January 10, 2020 - 2:09pm
andreb81's picture
Offline
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Kudos: 0

I freshly installed Infuse 6, version 6.2.5 (2888), on my girlfriends iPhone XR with Ios 13.3 and it has trouble fetching metadata for about 90% of the shows I add. Movies seem to work fine. So it´s not isolated to older versions of Infuse.

  January 10, 2020 - 2:11pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394

I just tried on iOS 13.3 with Infuse 6.2.5 and I'm not having any luck either with MASH. Will keep digging. Looks like there may be a gremlin in the bushes.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 10, 2020 - 2:17pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394

Just an FYI

Seems they made some changes again at thetvdb that may by contributing to the problem. Got a few messages out checking.

Probably best not to beat yourself to death changing things until we find out what's going on for sure. Smile

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 10, 2020 - 2:20pm
remotevisitor's picture
Offline
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 404
Kudos: 37

Wonder if this change at thetvdb has anything to do with it .... https://forums.thetvdb.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t...

  January 10, 2020 - 2:25pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394
  remotevisitor wrote:

Wonder if this change at thetvdb has anything to do with it .... https://forums.thetvdb.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t...

That's what I was referring to. Have a few messages in checking.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 11, 2020 - 12:05am
magsol76's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 24
Kudos: 0

The subject for this post should be changed. I just did a lenghty post and later found that this post was hijacked with the same issue.
I found a temporary workaround to find most tv shows: type part of the showname and scroll the results. But some still wont get added anyway.

  January 11, 2020 - 8:46am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394
  magsol76 wrote:

The subject for this post should be changed. I just did a lenghty post and later found that this post was hijacked with the same issue.
I found a temporary workaround to find most tv shows: type part of the showname and scroll the results. But some still wont get added anyway.

The original poster used that title since that was the show that they were working with, later it was found that it was many shows. If you don't mind I'd like to put a note in your other thread to look here for now so we don't have several threads about the same situation.

As to your work around it may work at times but yesterday that method had no affect on finding things and the metadata search wouldn't show any results. The folks over at thetvdb are doing something that has the fetching in a state of flux and we'll have to see where it smooths out. Smile

Thanks for bringing this additional info and hang in there, it may take a bit since we're on a weekend and getting answers may take a bit.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 11, 2020 - 9:39am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394

Per thetvdb's forum the problems that started in the last day or so should be working so you may have to do a manual metadata edit to get the correct info. If not please post the show name here.

  TheTVdb wrote:

The API Issues from 1/10 should be fully resolved as of this most recent update.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 11, 2020 - 10:29am
magsol76's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 24
Kudos: 0

Several shows still malfunctioning. They are found but no metadata is fetched. These are the ones i can´t update:
Game of Thrones, The Big Bang Theory, The Witcher (2019), South Park, His Dark Materials, Gåsmamman (AKA Mother Goose), Childhood´s End

  January 11, 2020 - 10:45am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394
  magsol76 wrote:

Several shows still malfunctioning. They are found but no metadata is fetched. These are the ones i can´t update:
Game of Thrones, The Big Bang Theory, The Witcher (2019), South Park, His Dark Materials, Gåsmamman (AKA Mother Goose), Childhood´s End

Just to clarify a bit, when you say they are found do you mean that they are on the web site or that when you do a manual metadata edit within Infuse it finds the right series but when selected it doesn't download the metadata?

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 11, 2020 - 11:04am
magsol76's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 24
Kudos: 0
  NC Bullseye wrote:

Just to clarify a bit, when you say they are found do you mean that they are on the web site or that when you do a manual metadata edit within Infuse it finds the right series but when selected it doesn't download the metadata?

The second one: found when doing a manual metadatasearch in infuse, select correct title and no metadata is fetched. Even though infuse says that metadata is refreshing nothing is updated.

  January 11, 2020 - 11:31am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394
  magsol76 wrote:

The second one: found when doing a manual metadatasearch in infuse, select correct title and no metadata is fetched. Even though infuse says that metadata is refreshing nothing is updated.

Would you mind doing an ATV or iOS device (which ever one your using) restart and checking to see if after it will work?

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 11, 2020 - 12:23pm
trenetics's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
Kudos: 0

Also having problem today, runing the newest ATV release, am Experiencing problems with metadata and posters on Power (2014) Evil (2019) tried to do an manual meta refresh doesn't work can't retrieve the correct data.

  January 11, 2020 - 12:38pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394
  trenetics wrote:

Also having problem today, runing the newest ATV release, am Experiencing problems with metadata and posters on Power (2014) Evil (2019) tried to do an manual meta refresh doesn't work can't retrieve the correct data.

Welcome to the forum!

Just to verify you're running the 2.6.5 version of Infuse? I ask since there was an update not long ago and there may be another while this thread is active so having the actual version helps.

Could you try a restart on the ATV and then check to see if the manual metadata search in Infuse finds the correct series? For some reason it seems that the restart clears things out so the new info can be displayed in some cases.

I just verified that my ATV4 is fetching info on the Infuse search for both Power and Evil correctly.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 11, 2020 - 1:01pm
magsol76's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 24
Kudos: 0
  NC Bullseye wrote:

Would you mind doing an ATV or iOS device (which ever one your using) restart and checking to see if after it will work?

Restarted iPhone on iOS 13.3 in infuse 6.2.5. Most shows work now but still no metadata for Game of thrones, Gåsmamman (aka mother goose) and the Witcher (2019)... Getting closer😕

Update.
Another reboot and now the Witcher works as wellness.

  January 11, 2020 - 1:52pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394
  magsol76 wrote:

Restarted iPhone on iOS 13.3 in infuse 6.2.5. Most shows work now but still no metadata for Game of thrones, Gåsmamman (aka mother goose) and the Witcher (2019)... Getting closer😕

Update.
Another reboot and now the Witcher works as wellness.

I know it's a PITA but I tested all of those and they came in so I'm sure that thetvdb is limping back slowly. Give it a while more and try it again.
Smile

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  January 11, 2020 - 2:09pm
trenetics's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
Kudos: 0
  NC Bullseye wrote:

Welcome to the forum!

Just to verify you're running the 2.6.5 version of Infuse? I ask since there was an update not long ago and there may be another while this thread is active so having the actual version helps.

Could you try a restart on the ATV and then check to see if the manual metadata search in Infuse finds the correct series? For some reason it seems that the restart clears things out so the new info can be displayed in some cases.

I just verified that my ATV4 is fetching info on the Infuse search for both Power and Evil correctly.

Thanks! and for your fast reply..! ill try and restart my ATV, i am running the latest 2.6.5 version of Infuse though. Hope it fixes my issues... Smile

  January 11, 2020 - 2:46pm
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Offline
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 2,988
Kudos: 394
  trenetics wrote:

Thanks! and for your fast reply..! ill try and restart my ATV, i am running the latest 2.6.5 version of Infuse though. Hope it fixes my issues... Smile

Seems that getting metadata from thetvdb the last few days is like trying to start a grumpy tractor. Lots of cranking and the occasional pop and chug but there's signs of a comeback so hang in there. Wink

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•