10 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  February 4, 2020 - 10:54am
purdnost's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 51
Kudos: 17

UI suggestion: When deleting a movie that you have downloaded to Infuse, you will be prompted if you want to permanently delete the movie. Granted, Infuse can't permanently delete the original movie file, which is why I think there should be more clarity in the prompt. It should specify that you're only deleting a downloaded copy of the movie from Infuse, that it doesn't delete the original file. Some might hesitate at this prompt like I did.

  February 5, 2020 - 12:48am
thepopol777's picture
Offline
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 21
Kudos: 6

Hello,

I'm not sure about what you mean, because when I do a delete on a movie, that also delete the original file on my Hard Drive ( NAS ).

  February 5, 2020 - 8:44am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Online
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3,325
Kudos: 414

I'm guessing the difference is that if you have "File Management" turned on in settings it will delete both.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  February 5, 2020 - 9:01am
thepopol777's picture
Offline
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 21
Kudos: 6

Yes, I have this option checked. Without it, I have no 'Delete' button.
That's why I'm confused. I thought that if OP talks about this button, his option is checked as well.

  February 5, 2020 - 9:09am
NC Bullseye's picture
Moderator
Online
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3,325
Kudos: 414
  thepopol777 wrote:

Yes, I have this option checked. Without it, I have no 'Delete' button.
That's why I'm confused. I thought that if OP talks about this button, his option is checked as well.

Are you downloading the file to the iOS device and then playing or are you streaming via network? I believe that when you download the video to your iOS device you can delete the one on the iOS device without file management set but I may be mistaken.

•Just Another Infuse User• •Not An Employee Of Firecore• •Certified Curmudgeon•

  February 5, 2020 - 9:50am
purdnost's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 51
Kudos: 17

I have File Management disabled. I'm referring to movies that I've downloaded to my device for offline viewing. My movie files are sourced from my Google Drive.

  February 7, 2020 - 3:22pm
danemacmillan's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 276
Kudos: 151

I experienced the same hesitation and thought the prompt could benefit from clarity, as OP stated.

  • Infuse Pro Lifetime
  February 7, 2020 - 4:43pm
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 14,548
Kudos: 1,278

We're looking into a few options here, and are leaning towards adding the item location ("Synced" for local files, or the share name for streamed files) after the file title.

EG
Are you sure you want to permanently delete "The Big Short" (Synced)?

Are you sure you want to permanently delete "The Big Short" (Google Drive)?

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  February 8, 2020 - 7:18am
danemacmillan's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Jul 2017
Posts: 276
Kudos: 151

I think that’s perfect. Nothing more complicated necessary.

  • Infuse Pro Lifetime
  February 14, 2020 - 1:18pm
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 14,548
Kudos: 1,278

Added for 6.3.1 which should be out next week.

Attachments: 

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!