181 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  July 14, 2011 - 9:11am
joseph .7360's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 170
Kudos: 0

Ran into my first problem since the beta 6. While about 45 minutes into a 2 hour film I got a message on my screen -" your device is running low on memory". Running from my external drive (NAS) connected to my Apple Extreme.

Any suggestions. When attempting to play again, it is a Video_TS folder, the film went back to main menu, not resume playing.

Tried twice, same message appeared.

I have played other videos, about 90 min and 75 minutes long, no problem.

(I only have XBMC not using at present; Nito, CouchSurfer-rarely use and Last FM installed)

  July 24, 2011 - 7:06am
joseph .7360's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 170
Kudos: 0

New problem with new media player. Attempted to watch a mkv file and 2 minutes in got the your device is low on memory. The previous post and this post are in relation to full length films. Any suggestions.

  July 25, 2011 - 11:36am
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,574
Kudos: 1,113

Your best option will be to submit a bug report so we can track down what's going on.

http://forum.firecore.com/topic/4291

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  November 28, 2011 - 11:00am
marcp.3312's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 21
Kudos: 0

What ever happened here? Having the same issues with the new release.

  November 28, 2011 - 2:20pm
Rea9er's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

Having this issue when streaming from WHS2011 but not my NAS??? Got 8GB in the WHS and only 1GB in the NAS... I assume it is related to ATV2 memory, not server/ NAS memory. This only happens to me when playing 1080p and 720p movies and only through media player. I installed Plex and it didn't happen but I prefer the simplicity of a media player, that and the fact plex meta data fetch is crap and takes far to long to manually change all the names. This happened particularly with the kids show pepper pig... some of the names and cover art it picked up were colourful to say the least; there were horrors, thrillers and porn in place of this cartoon and the cover art was everywhere! my son's eyes almost popped out of his head when I discovered this! lol

Any help would be great

  November 29, 2011 - 9:28am
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,574
Kudos: 1,113

In addition to Media Player, do you have any other 3rd party software installed (Plex, or things like Main Menu Weather, Main Menu Slideshows that were installed via nitoTV)?

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  November 29, 2011 - 10:45am
marcp.3312's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 21
Kudos: 0

I got Plex installed.

  November 29, 2011 - 11:01am
Rea9er's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

Hi James, I had Plex installed also but not NitoTV, I tried to uninstall Plex but it simply wouldn't remove from the "installed" status under the maintenance TAB although it wasn't showing up in the main menu area. I have only just recently upgraded to the 1.0 release over the weekend and have not reinstalled Plex so will have to wait until this weekend to check if the new release has fixed it or not.

 

In saying that, I don't think it is a Plex issue although it may seem like it is as I was having this issue prior to installing Plex. In fact this issue is the reason I installed Plex in the first place as it didn't seem to happen during playback through Plex and the WHS.

 

Thanks.

  November 29, 2011 - 11:03am
steve.waite's picture
Beta Tester
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 124
Kudos: 17

I get this when I try to do a Full backup, therefore I am unable to accomplish the backup. Apple TV software version 4.3 (2557), latest aTV Flash and Media Player installed, nothing else.

Steve

  December 1, 2011 - 2:36am
marcp.3312's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 21
Kudos: 0

Any news? Should I delete Plex?

Thx

  December 1, 2011 - 3:05am
Rea9er's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

Well I updated mine to the newest version then re-jail broke it etc but didn't reinstall Plex and so far I haven't had any issues (or should I say my wife hasn't.) 

  December 1, 2011 - 9:48am
marcp.3312's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 21
Kudos: 0

wanted to re jailbreak it but not getting it into DFU mode. tried all the tricks given here but still wont´work. anyone know why its not working.

 

EDIT: Never mind got it

  December 1, 2011 - 9:49am
marcp.3312's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 21
Kudos: 0

OK did a rebreak and reinstalled the newest version ATV. LEft out PLEX this time but still have the same problem streaming mkv file from my PC. still get the message device is running low on mem.

  December 3, 2011 - 8:32am
Tonijj's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 25
Kudos: 0

Have the same problem!!

Memory issue when trying to watch a 350mb avi from my NAS. What's wrong with ver 1.0?

  December 4, 2011 - 8:05am
c.staszkiewicz's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Kudos: 0

Same here!! Can't even do a restore as it's can't download the software from Apple!!  I received a 'critical update' today via the maintanence menu so maybe this is anything to do with it?

  December 4, 2011 - 2:11pm
c.staszkiewicz's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Kudos: 0

Forgot to say, it wouldn't uninstall programs either.

 

One thing I did do though, as mentioned previously, was try to do a back-up to Apple.  Maybe that's the reason why.

 

That said, I've also used Plex a lot over the weekend, for the first time, to listen to music.

 

I've now re-done the jailbreak.

  December 5, 2011 - 4:48am
marcp.3312's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 21
Kudos: 0

Great now I can´t see a picture when I use my IPAD2 and stream Youtube on my Samsung via the ATV. I can hear it but I can´t see a picture.

 

What´s going on with this new release???

  December 6, 2011 - 10:47am
marcp.3312's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 21
Kudos: 0

Any news. It´s a little frustating.

  December 8, 2011 - 1:45pm
Tonijj's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 25
Kudos: 0

Yeah would appreciate an answer from fire core here.... Logs sent a week ago

  December 13, 2011 - 1:56am
marcp.3312's picture
Offline
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 21
Kudos: 0

I really like the product!! But the support REALLY needs to improve.

  December 13, 2011 - 9:11am
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,574
Kudos: 1,113

To be honest, we've had very few reports of this going on.

However, if you are seeing this behavior with the latest 1.1 version please send in a bug report (as described in the link below) and we will get it resolved.

http://forum.firecore.com/topic/4291

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  July 8, 2012 - 10:50am
frozengrapefruit@gmail.com's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Kudos: 0

I just had this playing a .m4k movie on the apple tv 2.   I have the newest version of aTV flash.  The message kept repeating and quitting the movie (even after restart) until I uninstalled NitoTV and then worked perfectly.  Since I don't need NitoTV any longer, its not a big deal, but just wanted to let you know this issue is still out there for some people

  July 9, 2012 - 4:08pm (Reply to #22)
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,574
Kudos: 1,113
  tracyn.6213 wrote:

I just had this playing a .m4k movie on the apple tv 2.   I have the newest version of aTV flash.  The message kept repeating and quitting the movie (even after restart) until I uninstalled NitoTV and then worked perfectly.  Since I don't need NitoTV any longer, its not a big deal, but just wanted to let you know this issue is still out there for some people

Interesting. If you're able to send in a bug report it may help us track down the root cause.

http://forum.firecore.com/topic/4291

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  October 12, 2012 - 3:19am
joseffe's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Kudos: 0

Hi James,

unfortunately I encountered the same problem: Running only xmbc as 3rd Party. Proeblems with media player even when browsing it states "low memory". The behaviour is not realy deterministic. Sometime, restart works fine, sometimes not. I am using a NAS (QNAP) with several GB of movies. May this be related to metadata (is the metadata stored directly on appleTV)?

It first appeared with the latest version of media player, before I never had this issue. I already tried to clear some files from atv cache but it hadn't solved the problem.

 

Thanks for a solution,

 Oliver

  October 16, 2012 - 6:45am
sucumbiendo's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Kudos: 0

I have the same issue, but when the ATV says Low memory, I reset the ATV with the menu and play/pause buttons.

  October 16, 2012 - 11:28am
breather's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Kudos: 0

I also get Low Memory warning and also a very choppy (low framerate) playback (it sometimes get stuck for 10-15 sec) when watching MKV files via the Media Player.

The low memory warning does not always show, usually only after a couple of hours of MKV, but sometimes right away.

 

I have also tried latest XBMC and there was no problem watching tv-shows or movies.

 

A reboot seems to reset the problem...

 

atv flash black 2.0 on AppleTV 2 and afp over cable

 

 

Cat in the wall, eh? Ok, now you're talking my language. I know this game

  October 16, 2012 - 1:34pm
apptel's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Kudos: 0

I have exactly the same problem in the media player (and everywhere else). The low memory warning pops up every now and then and mkv playback is choppy as hell. Bug report submitted today...

  October 16, 2012 - 3:23pm
Rea9er's picture
Offline
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

Hi again,

I have been meaning to post an update on my issue with memory for a while but have just been unable to find the time. After decommissioning my whs and streaming everything from my NAS despite my prior comments about not getting this error they are now happening more and more frequently. I have found that performing a atv2 relaunch through maintenance/ settings it seems to help for a movie sometimes 2 but then it starts all over again.

For me it doesn't matter if it is an mkv file or not, it seems as if it is due to the atv2 remembering where you are up to in a movie that is causing the issue. Is there a way to clear the progress points on movies you have watched? I never watch the closing credits but my wife has thinking it would just stop once it got to the end but it just restarted the movie. Would be a handy feature if this is the cause of the low memory error.

  October 16, 2012 - 3:59pm
joseffe's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Kudos: 0

Hi all,

quick one from my side: The file type doesn't matter either. I have *.iso as well as *.mp4. As mentioned before the error not only occurs during playback or start of playback but even when browsing files on my NAS - but not each time I use my atv.

Cheers,

 joseffe

  October 18, 2012 - 3:26pm
mdilorenzo's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Kudos: 0

Same problem here After update . I can no more listen music with Atv since it return memory error.
Thanks for fixing

  October 19, 2012 - 12:58pm
Ben42000's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 31
Kudos: 0

Same problem here.

No 3rd party application.

Ethernet network, media on a NAS (lots of films, no music).

Rebooting does not always solve the issue.

I send a report each time I see the warning.

Thanks for the fix !