8 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  August 14, 2011 - 1:13pm
GoPronto's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 118
Kudos: 0

im getting a loud click when a movie starts , playind a vob, using Media player,

 

AVT flash 0.7

 

  August 14, 2011 - 2:53pm
Lando2081's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Kudos: 0

Disable AC3 Passthrough

 

  August 14, 2011 - 2:53pm
GoPronto's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 118
Kudos: 0

Cheers, that was an easy fix Smile

  August 15, 2011 - 11:35am
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,593
Kudos: 1,115

Essentially what's happening is that when playback begins/resumes the AppleTV will switch from PCM (analog) to AC3/DTS (digital) sound. Some receivers will take a moment to recognize the switch, and will incorrectly process the digital sound as analog. This results in the split second of static you hear.

We're planning to address this in a future version.

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  August 16, 2011 - 3:56am (Reply to #4)
Lando2081's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Kudos: 0
  james wrote:

Essentially what's happening is that when playback begins/resumes the AppleTV will switch from PCM (analog) to AC3/DTS (digital) sound. Some receivers will take a moment to recognize the switch, and will incorrectly process the digital sound as analog. This results in the split second of static you hear.

We're planning to address this in a future version.

Yes, and i think this is the reason, why AC3 Passthrough doesn't work correctly. I posted in another thread, that AC3 passthrough works for me when i disable the "click" sound if you press the remote.

Then the Receiver doesn't get this PCM - AC3 switch because there is no sound before the film starts. But DTS works fine all the time...

Here my post:
http://forum.firecore.com/topic/5011?page=2

Regards Chris

P.S. I'm using Media Player 0.7 on iOS 4.2.2 jailbreaked with Seas0nPass

  August 16, 2011 - 8:34am (Reply to #5)
james's picture
Staff
Offline
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,593
Kudos: 1,115
  Lando2081 wrote:

Yes, and i think this is the reason, why AC3 Passthrough doesn't work correctly. I posted in another thread, that AC3 passthrough works for me when i disable the "click" sound if you press the remote.

Then the Receiver doesn't get this PCM - AC3 switch because there is no sound before the film starts. But DTS works fine all the time...

Here my post:
http://forum.firecore.com/topic/5011?page=2

Regards Chris

P.S. I'm using Media Player 0.7 on iOS 4.2.2 jailbreaked with Seas0nPass

Interesting. Maybe we can kill two birds with one stone.  Wink

Infuse 6 for iOS and Apple TV is now available!

  August 16, 2011 - 8:40am (Reply to #6)
Lando2081's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Kudos: 0
  james wrote:

Interesting. Maybe we can kill two birds with one stone.  Wink

I'll keep my fingers crossed!

  September 7, 2011 - 2:37am
Lando2081's picture
Offline
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Kudos: 0

I just want to update, that in Beta7 AC3 still doesn't work correctly, when the "Click" Sound is enabled...

I'm disappointed...