10 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  December 19, 2011 - 11:56am
GoPronto's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 118
Kudos: 0

Hi all i have noticed that the playback reliabilty on ATV  is dependant of the software you use to backup/rip the disk's,

 

So can i ask you all to list on here the software and the reliability of the backup/rip

 

Im using OneClick DVD Pro , but have noticed that the play back reliability  depends on some of the settings.

 

 

  December 20, 2011 - 6:15pm
GoPronto's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 118
Kudos: 0

No Replys ??????

 

Come on guys what software are you using?

 

  December 22, 2011 - 2:07am
gregg.3852's picture
Offline
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Kudos: 0

For ripping the disks, I've found DVDFab to be reliable.  The other big name is AnyDVD.  I rip to .iso images, then mount them as a virtual disc using DVDFab's Virtual Drive, then encode them to work through the ATV2, using Handbrake.  Handbrake mostly works great for me, with some blocking/pixellation, and an occasional error in the audio.

  December 22, 2011 - 4:39am
TKMAXX's picture
Offline
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 155
Kudos: 0

DVD Shrink for me, producing a .VOB file. Out of 200 or so discs that I have,  there was about 5 or so that it couldnt rip for what ever reason but the ones that are ripped have absolutly no playback problems what so ever (of the ones I have viewed of course).

 

Thanks for the help!

TKMAXX

  December 22, 2011 - 11:19am
michaelc.3278's picture
Offline
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Kudos: 0

I'm using RipIt... works fine.

  December 23, 2011 - 2:55pm
terryd.2712's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
Kudos: 0

I'm a DVDFab guy. I rip DVDs to ISO images then break those down into avi divx files all using DVDfab. I'm sure alot of people will argue against avi files, but the quality is good enough for me and I had other devices that I needed the files to be compatible with.

  December 23, 2011 - 5:00pm
GoPronto's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 118
Kudos: 0

thanks for all the input guys..

 

Now has any one found away that it will auot rip a disc just by putting into the drive , and then open the tray when its finished,

  December 27, 2011 - 7:09am
gregg.3852's picture
Offline
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Kudos: 0

I'm guessing you'll need to learn/write some scripting to handle that.

  December 29, 2011 - 9:13am
problaze's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

if you are on a mac then ripit does just that...

dvd fab can be setup to auto eject in prefs...

you will need to create a batch script from it's CLI to a specific profile and then use eventghost to run this batchscript on hardware-event close disc tray!

  December 29, 2011 - 1:02pm
GoPronto's picture
Offline
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 118
Kudos: 0

thanks for the event ghost tip