7 posts / 0 new / Last post
#1  January 21, 2012 - 3:17am
geragray's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

I am running media player 1.2 and noticed recently that if i have .mkv file with aac 5.1 track it is down sampled to PCM stereo. XBMC on the other hand can transcode 5.1 aac to 5.1 AC3. So now i am forced to watch some of the videos via XMBC. Are there any plans of on the fly aac-ac3 conversion for file core media player?

  May 13, 2012 - 1:56am
geragray's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0

Up. Guys this is really annoying missing feature. Recently i am forced to watch all new movies (mp4 with aac track) in XBMC in order to get proper sound on my 5.1 home sound system. It does not look like something complicated, since it works via XBMC on the same hardware.

  May 13, 2012 - 2:50pm
Freebird's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Kudos: 2

This sounds like a bug to me. I would recommend you open a support-ticket http://support.firecore.com/requests/new Smile

Participates in the Norwegian translation of aTV Flash Black and Infuse.

  December 22, 2012 - 12:46pm
jugulator's picture
Offline
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Kudos: 0

I understand this is an old thread. But this feature is still missing. All 5.1 aac audio is downmixed to PCM 2.0. I can watch through my smart TV connected NAS just fine as 5.1. But this is not as friendly as ATV flash. Also my TV doesnt play .mkv files. So, this is very annoying. Any fix or update on this..?

  December 23, 2012 - 2:00am (Reply to #4)
geragray's picture
Offline
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Kudos: 0
  jugulator wrote:

I understand this is an old thread. But this feature is still missing. All 5.1 aac audio is downmixed to PCM 2.0. I can watch through my smart TV connected NAS just fine as 5.1. But this is not as friendly as ATV flash. Also my TV doesnt play .mkv files. So, this is very annoying. Any fix or update on this..?

Haven't heard anything from filecore guys. Still have to watch half of movies in XBMC because of this Frown

  June 15, 2015 - 3:29am
turningpointup's picture
Offline
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Kudos: 0

I use iDealshare VideoGo to convert AAC to AC3 or convert AC3 to AAC with 5.1 channel

Step by step guide at http://www.idealshare.net/audio-converter/conv...

To make the output AC3 in 5.1 channel,
You may follow the setting below:
Click "Setting..." button, the "Advanced Settings" Window will pop up right beside the main window;
.
In the 'Advanced Settings' Window, switch to 'Advanced' tab and then go to the 'Audio Codec' section;

Click Stereo on the right side of Channels to select 5.1 from the drop-down list.

  November 11, 2016 - 12:39am
hungchen's picture
Offline
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Kudos: 0

You may try use Avdshare Audio Converter to convert AC3 to AAC on Mac and Windows